Toowoomba workshop @ Cobb+Co Museum

This last weekend I was up at Toowoomba at the Cobb+Co Museum facilitating a silversmithing workshop. I have a few of these to do this year and this was the first of the series.

The facility is not too different to a lot of Flying Arts set ups that I have worked in. I take all the tools with me and set everything up before everyone arrives and we get started creating wonderful pieces – as you will be able to see from the photos!

The great thing about this place too is that they provide us with morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea! It is totally amazing!! The amount of food we had on the first day was unbelievable and  meant that I did not have to have any dinner as I was so full I couldn’t fit another thing in!

Another great aspect of working up there is that the staff are so friendly and helpful. It was a real pleasure to be there and nothing was too much trouble.

My students were a mother and daughter and a boarder from one of the schools who was in grade 11. They usually don’t run a course unless they have the minimum number of 5 people, but as there had been some issues in the past few months, they felt that they needed to run this course. This was also a great way for me to see how everything worked without there being too many people on hand to worry about in the beginning. One of the great things with this set up also is that they have forced breaks at 10-12 and 2 which gets everyone up and out of the studio. Something that I will be adopting in my weekend courses back at the BIA. Otherwise people get a little too involved in their projects and they become too tense!

Everyone seemed to really enjoy their time with me which as always a bonus with hopefully creating a base of repeat students. All three of the participants said that they would love to come back and learn something else and gave some really good suggestions as to what they would be interested in next. So I will do up some projects and cost them out. This way, people will be able to select some of the projects that they would be interested in and I will be able to budget the materials to specifically what they would like to make…..well that’s the plan anyway!

 

So all in all it was a really good weekend. I got to spend time with my mother and step-father as well as meet new people and have some great food!

Very satisfying!

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

